Frohe Weihnachten

As Angie not home did a morning walk with Luna which then allowed me to do the now traditional Christmas Eve visit to Ottobeuren, in particular to the Basilica to do my own version of remembering people & events important to me. Some will know I'm not the greatest "Believer" despite my Roman Catholic upbringing, but I have a certain need to take time out to 'remember' some of my 'Stars'.

As usual a number of candles lit and took the 15 minutes or so to listen to the Benedictine monks do their evening choral chants & prayers ending 5 minutes before 18.00, the traditional moment of Christmas here. After the Basilica bells, walked down the steps in to the town and simply walked around the totally deserted marketplace and looking at the few window shops there. The marketplace is mainly full of restaurants which like all other businesses close on Christmas Eve at latest 14:00 when a legal "still" time comes with no public, non-religious music and dancing ban.

I have always been fascinated by German shop window displays. In the extras the others in the Apotheke - Chemist - one of only two shops. Somehow I lost the photos of the other one, a hairdresser.

Happy Safe Healthy Christmas one and all.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.