Stonechat Didn't Chat

It's the first time I have taken Ollie dog off the premises for a walk since I fell down into a ditch whilst shooting the chapel crib a week before Christmas. I'm so fortunate that I didn't break any bones. I felt something 'give' as I fell. The inside of my right leg is black from my groin to my knee and from my knee to my calf on the outside. I'm no longer hobbling but not back to striding yet. We walked only as far as the farmhouse. It wasn't very pleasant, freezing cold and foggy.

I spotted a little bird flicking its tail and thought at first that it was a dunnock. What a thrill when we got closer to discover that it was a male stonechat. This is the first that I have seen at Lodge Farm. It flitted from prominent twig to twig. It didn't make its call which sounds like stones being hit together. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.