CALLY : Starting out

By Cally

Standing room only

by CALLY
Paddle-boarding is becoming a regular sight at our beaches. This duo set off from near the mouth of the Onkaparinga River and their leisurely cruise suggested they were practised, as one stopped paddling to search for something in his pocket. This river area area is absolutely beautiful and tranquil, featuring rich birdlife, notably black swans which I blipped earlier. The sea is just beyond those sandhills. Later, when at the beach , I was photographing another paddle-boarding duo who clearly were learners and were struggling to stay afloat even though the sea was calm. One called out to me asking if I would like to try it .....perhaps suggesting I , too, would find it wasn't as easy to stay upright as it looked! I declined but later wished I had tried. Partly through the fear of likely looking like a floundering whale trying to get on the board... but also of course because I had a dog with me and couldn't leave her feeling lost on the beach. Ah, missed opportunities!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.