62 Ponsonby Road

Another photo from Ponsonby Road, as part of the One Street project.

This store states in its window labelling that it sells Vintage and Retro (furtniture presumably). On the street is a sandwich board advertising "new" furniture. The photo shows the full width of the shop, so unless they have furniture upstairs, or out the back, they can't have very much.

I was on my run when I passed this shop full of treasure. Didn't have time, nor was I dressed appropriately to enter and look. A treat in store.

Further along Ponsonby Road I heard a vaguely familiar voice call my name, just after I had passed someone who looked like a person with a long term psychiatric illness. Indeed, it was he who had called out. He then proceeded to abuse me in a very foul mouthed way, just slightly less offensive than the only other time on all my runs in this central city area (where there are many people with whom I have had contact over the years) that I have been so abused.

I have to wonder what others thought of the stream of abuse following me as I quietly went on my run. I feel sad that he has been so neglected by the system that he looked so unwell, and sounded it, when the last time I had seen him he had greeted me cheerily, and he looked well kempt and not in need of basic care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.