Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

I Believe I Can Fly

Not a stellar day today. Started, well, let's not go there.

Later, swimming. Only one of the three pools was functioning; due to last night's storm and blackout, their pumps failed, and the levels of chlorine were "out" (too high, I presume). Few of the lessons were on - in the 25m pool - but the kiddies' was one of them. So here's Missymoo's Supergirl-style flying belly-flop. ;-)

In the afternoon I went out for what turned out to be my least enjoyable run EVAR. Temperature was 30deg or so, and following all the rain it was a bit humid. So I was fairly knackered. My feet started to hurt after a while: I think the shoes have been a bit too wet and dirty, and have consequently dried a bit stiff in places ... anyway, pressure points and sore feet. It was ok, but annoying. Then I realised that I had gone a km or more past the rail overbridge which was to be my turnaround point. I was halfway to bloomin' Warrimoo by that point. Totally fed up and demoralised, which I think made my feet hurt more when I turned around. They hurt so much I took off my shoes and ran barefoot - which was better until ... something sharp. Not the glass - that I avoided; but something. It was of course just at the right spot on a big toe to hurt a little with every step. Normally it probably wouldnt have affected me, but in the mood I was in, my demoralisation, it was like a spike right through my foot. I struggled on for a bit, then decided I had to put my shoes back on for a touch of cushioning (as minimal as that is with my Merrells). Then of course it was worse because of the near-to-blisters that I had.

I should add: I think I saw fellow blipper bigred1977 as I was barefooting along. He was driving though, so I don't think a blip of me is in the offing. ;-)

So I gave up, and my darling wife bundled the kids into the car and came to collect me.

Fail.

Anyway, we had an amazing dinner - not just amazing in its tastiness, but amazing that it came from the Coles (big supermarket chain) website. I will say however, that it looked a hell of a lot better as dished up by mrs tsuken the amazing, than it does on the website.

Just now finished watching Secret Window. If you haven't seen it, see it. I'm not a Stephen King fan by any stretch of the imagination (it was adapted from one of his short stories), but it is an excellent film. Johnny Depp is really brilliant in it, and ... I can't really say much more without hinting at too much of what comes. Just see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.