Lake Grassmere looking towards Arthur's Pass

We tried fishing Lake Pearson in the fading light last evening but nothing was happening. This morning I spoke with someone from Flockhill Station who said Pearson doesn't fish well this late in the season. Good local knowledge to store away for next season.

Lake Grassmere definitely has fish in it so we headed back. In theory everything seemed good - no wind, smelt and cockabillies in the shallows and a bit of mist to begin with. We saw a few trout break the water and a decent sized fish made a couple of impressive bow waves as came close to the surface, but none were tempted with our lures.

Look at that view. A fish is a bonus. Being there was enough.

Big is definitely best

Now I'm back home clean and no longer smelling like a fish. Waders and boots are rinsed and hanging in the back of the garage, washing is done, bike pannier is organised for work tomorrow and the trout is smoked. It's destined for my parents when I visit in a couple of weeks. Late tomorrow I'll take it to my local butcher and get it vacuum packed.

While preparing the trout for smoking, I cut a few tid-bits of fish from the head for the cat. He was impressed. He was less impressed when I fed him his normal meat for dinner. The look said it all, "I want that fish".

I've back blipped yesterday at Lake Grassmere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.