An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Ant or bee?

I have had trouble deciding what to blip (I found a couple of mighty strange bugs that I have never seen before - one is a Chalcid Wasp, and the other, well I don't even know if its a beetle or a moth or what! Need to investigate that one).

This flower is at my parents house and seems to be perpetually flowering, whatever time of year it is. They could tell you what it is, but I don't know - I'm better with bugs than flowers. If you can't eat it, I don't usually bother growing it. I thought this was a winged ant when I took the image, but the more I look at it, the more it doesn't look like an ant at all, but a tiny bee. It's shape and eyes scream bee to me. I can only guess that it's a type of Homalictus Bee? It is very shiny black, like an ant, with no colour on it at all.

If you look large, you might just be able to see that it has that funny bee neck that I have mentioned before, like a collar, so I'm sure it must be a bee. Its eyes (in another shot) are big like a bees too. Just another impossible to identify native Australian bee.

I'm going to give my blip folio a clear out later so that I can freshen it up a little with newer images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.