An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

HUGE fly

I don't mean quite big, I mean at least 25 mm/1 inch huge. I'm having trouble identifying it, but I'll have another crack at it later and update. How hard can it be to identify the biggest fly (other than a crane or robber fly) that you are ever likely to see, in Victoria at least? (Quite hard apparently)

I have only had about half an hour at home today between 8.15 and 7pm, so photography time was a little limited. And it was 36º when I did get out there, so I headed straight to the water tanks for some instant insect action (or inaction, seeing as they all hang out on the shady side of the tank, trying to get cool). Some interesting bugs out there - but I liked this one best, well mainly because of its size, which sometimes does matter.

Even bigger big fly

EDIT: I still haven't been able to ID this fly; perhaps I'm too tired. But I have just added five new images of interesting insects from the last few days to my blip folio. Starting with this one of a very pretty Banded Caterpillar Parasite Wasp, click to the right to end up with a leafcutter bee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.