Baking and Sleet

I don't normally blip my baking as a main picture unless I'm feeling very proud or there is nothing else to blip. It's the second one today.
We've had atrocious weather today so no photos from the outside world.
I was out there clearing gutters blocked with snow/slush, sweeping the soggy heavy snow from the kayak tent and cars, and turning the water butts right-side-up so they actually collect the rain, which has no business falling in these quantities in late December. By the time I came in I was pretty wet. The outer layer went into the bathrom, all the other layers hung around the wood-burner to dry.
So I decided today was a baking day and made two kilos of bread rolls, about 66% bread flour and 33% wholemeal flour. I used yeast because we needed the bread for the evening, but threw in 200g of old sourdough starter to add the sourish tang! They came out tasty but a little compact, I think because I hurried the process a little and they needed a little more time to rise.  Well, they'll get eaten I'm sure.
I do hope your weather is better than ours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.