Still pretty

...and the tree ;)

I slept badly, or hardly at all last night. Ended up at 4.30 coming downstairs to read my book. It’s very cold in the early hours without any heating! Even with my onesie on! I went back to bed about 6am, then didn’t wake until 10. So my day has been a bit topsy turvy.

Last week, returning home from mums after the sad events of that week, and a Christmas to prepare for in just a day, I overlooked telling you about something really nice that happened. When I got here, there was a large box shaped parcel addressed to me, that had arrived from Hong Kong, during the week. I opened it, wondering what I had ordered that I had forgotten about, but was dumbfounded to find a fully functional small scale sewing machine inside. Excited, Mollie and I got it all out of its box, and within minutes had tested its excellent sewing capabilities on a scrap of fabric. But it was Christmas Eve, and I was trying to get ready for the big day, so carefully put it back in the box and moved it to the conservatory- along with a whole lot of other stuff that was cluttering my dining room, and we carried on with Christmas.

It is a complete mystery who had kindly bought me such a generous gift. So far no one has come forward, so thank you whoever you are. Mollie and I are very grateful, and it means when things are a bit clearer after next week, we can both properly focus on ‘hut STUFF’ and where it will take us in 2021.

We have had a little bit of a discussion this evening on what to focus on. We need to reduce the bulk of our fabric. I will concentrate on that. Mollie has already cut out lots of purse patterns, so she is going to make them up into finished purses. She did an excellent job making things for presents in the run up to Christmas when I couldn’t manage to. My mum, sister and niece, plus Josh’s mum, sister and nephew all benefited so will, I am sure, be able to give excellent reviews :) We know we need to work on our finishing, but more practice will make perfect, I am sure. So at the moment, Mollie is the expert and I’m keen to catch up :)

My dad had an old trailer that was very well used, but I am hoping Jon will be able to use the chassis to build the ‘hut’ for us to use for portable sales. A challenge, and yet another thing I’ve added to his list of jobs!

A bit of tidying, and some time writing a bit for the order of service, which Manda has expertly created on her computer. Another cheese and biscuits buffet, and some tv. No wine. I wonder it that is what kept me awake last night. Who knows. I just know my head always seem to be buzzing with things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.