Frommotherearth

By Frommotherearth

Snow for a change.

An interesting day today, different to yesterday in that yesterday I woke up to a blanket of snow but due to responsibilities could not get out until mid morning.

Today I had all the time in the world but looked out onto a grey morning with scrappy ice from yesterday and not much left of the snowy blanket so I took my time getting ready and leaving the house.

It was bitterly cold, I had to put some air into one of my tyres and scrape ice and snow of my window. My scraping hand was freezing so I went into the house and ran the tap over it which for some reason just caused shearing pain to curse through my hand. 

After getting myself together I jumped into the car and felt the crackle of ice under my tyres as I drove to my chosen venue.

As I got there I had an excited message from a friend of mine who shares a similar passion. As I  read his message the heavens opened and large swirling snow flakes poured out. I thought to myself I really must look like a snowman as I trudged forward.

I thought my friend was joking as I read his message that two of the local stags had just had a fight in the snow.

When I got there and met up with him I soon learned he was not joking and if I had of been five minutes earlier I to would have witnessed this rare event.

The larger of the two stags was still there in the bushes or thereabouts roaring in the swirling, falling snow.

I got a few snaps but it was ever so difficult with the autofocus preferring to focus on the snow than the animal behind it.

I was not disappointed really that I missed the fight, I've seen a few this year. It was cool to hear the story from my friend. I'm glad he got to see it. He really has put a lot of work in this year and walked a lot of miles for that.

The picture I've added was one from a little later in the day when the snow had settled and the lighting was better. A nice easy pic. I've cropped it pretty severely because I like his face.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.