Frommotherearth

By Frommotherearth

Inquisitive deer

A very inquisitive red deer hind in her thick winter pelage.

Red deer are very inquisitive and sometimes seem as interested in us as we are in them. They are smart enough to know in which areas they are relatively safe and in those areas will sometimes spend as much time observing you as you do them.

This one seemed to be the more inquisitive of the group I was watching. As I sat down in the snow she approached me fairly close, only jumping every now and again as i shuffled my getting slightly wet posterior for comfort.(The snow was melting quicker than I was expecting).

Clever as they are she would not have known we were are on the eve of a fresh new year. I guess that's something reserved explicitly for humans although a year in the life of a deer is very much driven by the yearly seasonal cycle.

In human terms it has been a very difficult year, some say that there is light at the end of the tunnel. For my part I'm looking forwards to the new year and intend to revel  in and embrace natures glory.

I wish anyone that reads this every happiness in the new year.

 



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.