Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

A European End

These were not by any means all the flights between UK and Germany during the time from 1988 to 1990 when my UK company, Grand Metropolitan plc (later Diageo) had me commuting to Munich. Infrequently to start with in 1988 until summer of 1989 but then almost weekly.

With Air Europe, a lovely little airline with its own great Business Class Lounge at Gatwick and at least access to the general one at Munich. Nogbad and I were quite well known.

On 2nd September 1990 I finally moved to Munich and was put on the German payroll. No more Duty Free! For the remaining few flights till then used Lufthansa and BA as had to fly to Frankfurt or from Heathrow.

I was looking forward to using the amassed points on a nice free holiday to somewhere in the Med perhaps the following summer but by then Air Europe had gone bankrupt!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.