AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Grand Concourse, Central Station, Sydney

The Grand Concourse of Sydney's Central Station (completed 1906) is still in festive mood.

The extra shows the nearby Mortuary Station. Completed in 1869 in the ornate gothic style, it was the departure point for trains bound for Rookwood Cemetary with their cargo of deceased persons and their mourners. The station's use diminished from 1938 when road transport began to take over and by 1948 it closed.

Both Central and Mortuary stations were placed on the NSW Heritage Register in 1999.

Today's Blip marks the end of my first year of blipping and what a dimension it has added to my life. I enjoy the challenge of posting a photo each day and seeing what fellow blippers have posted from places all over the world. Thank you blippers for being so encouraging and willing to share information about your photos. You've inspired me taught me a lot.

Thanks also for all the great comments, stars and hearts for my yesterday's tiny ants. I so appreciate them.

Thanks for hosting BobsBlips. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.