In the post

Finally all complete and posted! Luckily they fitted into, what is classed by Royal Mail as a large letter sized cardboard envelope. I have large letter stamps which I keep for my homemade cards so after checking size and weight on the Royal Mail website I stuck on two, which should more than cover the cost, and they are now hopefully winging their way southwards! Our post is collected at 4pm so I dropped them in the post box on my walk with Reg. It was a crunchy icy walk through the village and we were only out for about 45 minutes. I met two friends out with their dog and Heather, one of our vicars, who was also out for a constitutional! She has her mother staying with her, who badly burnt her hand earlier in the year and couldn't cope at home by herself. We stopped for a quick chat but it was very cold and Reg was keen to get home. Not really because he wanted to be in the warm, like me, but he wanted to play more snowballs in the garden; he is obsessed!
Hazel, our local Hermes lady, collected the cake for mum. 
Hopefully it won't get held up with the New Year looming and she will receive it by the weekend. I wanted to give mum a boost as she is really feeling the loneliness at the moment.
Some more sad news today, a matting friend's husband passed away on Boxing Day. He had a heart attack and died with Covid complications. Life is so hard for so many at the moment, for so many different reasons. 
A had a task at the end of the day which filled me with dread, but wasn't so bad as I thought once it was done. My mum had missed quite a lot of my brother's service as her hearing aids were failing. I told her I would rewatch the live stream, a service provided after the event and transcribe what was said by the celebrant. It was a tough call but it is now done and can be filed  away. 
So many mixed feelings today, some joyous, some sorrowful but I can still look forward and see that light shining brightly at the end of the tunnel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.