Selbst ist die Frau

As is required in this rural part of the world, the women are only asked to do the simple finishing touches while the men tackle the heavy, very responsible, dangerous work from behind the wheel of a diesel-spitting monster. I have explained this in the past. As it is traditional, it must be right and good.

As can be seen in the extras, unlike most of my male colleagues, I haven't got a €100,000 heated seat/steering wheel cab with Dolby-Surround sound and Satellite supported servo-steering but at least at this time of year the air-conditioning works well.

Yesterday was jealous of Nogbad's topless trip to Folkestone so this morning's news that I had to collect a hay bale from the village was welcome. It has been nearly three weeks since my last fresh-air drive.


But then came the news that the hay bales at MrsMY had been blocked by straw bales so we couldn't have one right now. Angie took off with the horse trailer to an organic farm about 30 minutes away where the bales originate from and where we get our young chickens. In the meantime I fed the John Deere a jerry can of winter diesel bought a few weeks ago.

As can be seen in Extra Photo, I mastered all the seemingly impossible hurdles and nobody or thing was damaged in the action. Angie managed to manoeuvre her double length size pallet truck without my help.

Self, is the woman.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.