Life Savors

By osuzanna

Vulcan Sparrow?

....Is this white-throated Sparrow a member of the Spock family??? 

I guess some of you will get this and others may think I have slipped off the rails.  I was intrigued by the curly branch behind it as well. 

For the first time in my life, I experienced a panic attack today.  I went to Walgreen's pharmacy to pick up a prescription as I have done a few times during this pandemic. All retail locations in our county limit the number of people that can be inside at one time, so when the limit is reached a line forms outside.    I had my N95 mask on and thought it would be smooth sailing when there was no line.  

When I got to the prescription pickup area, however, there was a line that extended back into one of the aisles.  Everyone obediently stood on their 6 foot distanced floor marker with their masks on, but other customers were going up and down the aisle and looking for items on the shelves where we were standing.  I started to feel very uneasy about their proximity and then my heart rate started to go up and I felt panicky and like bursting into tears. I left immediately.  I had only been there about 5 minutes so any exposure I might have had would have been minimal but my response to the situation was very unsettling. 

On my way out, I saw one of the pharmacy employees and told them about the situation. Apparently, no one had been monitoring how many people were in the store.  When I got outside, I was in quite a state and it took me a few minutes to pull myself together and calm down.  I will go back early in the morning or late in the day when it will be less busy.  

I wonder what other scars this pandemic will leave on us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.