Pileated Woodpecker

I have been going more frequently to Huntley Meadows as it seems to be the best location in the area for wildlife photography.  In the past, I had to leave very very early in order to beat the rush hour traffic, but since the pandemic, there is no rush hour and it is easier for me to go a little later in the morning and take the 35-40 minute drive without worry that it will turn in to a drive of an hour or more. 

I forgot that a lot of people are off work this week and so there were more photographers there than I had expected for a weekday.  There were lots of ducks, a few kingfishers and songbirds, and hawks.  As I was taking an alternative path back through the woods to the wetlands boardwalk, I heard a very loud tap-tap-tap and it didn't take very long to see this guy busy at work on one of the trees.  I have only ever photographed one of these once before.  It was taken through a lot of branches and at quite a distance, but I still thought it worth blipping. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.