Mission Accomplished

On this day in history in 1879, Thomas Edison gave his first public demonstration of the incandescent light bulb when he lit up a street in Menlo Park, New Jersey. The Pennsylvania Railroad Company ran a special train service to Menlo Park in response to public enthusiasm regarding the event.

On this day in 2020, I completed the year long project I set myself as a New Year's resolution last year, which was to create an On This Day In History Google Slides which I could share at the beginning of each day with my class. Each day has one slide of text (thank you, History Channel) and an accompanying picture (courtesy of Creative Commons, of course.) 730 slides in total. Over the next few weeks I am going to print them out so and put the pages in twelve 32 page B5 clear folders so that I have a permanent day-by-day calendar which I can look at and read every year. I have already printed out January.

Yesterday we did some extensive end-of-the-year house cleaning. It's amazing how much dust and junk accumulates in those hidden nooks and crannies, isn't it? We'll be doing some more today. A few days, I did some preliminary sorting and I discovered a project I started as a New Year's resolution in 2017. I had resolved to handwrite one inspirational quote in a very nice notebook with a lenticular cover of Star Wars: The Force Awakens which I had received as a Christmas gift. I really enjoyed reading through the entries which I had written, but unfortunately I must have run out of steam on March 29th because that was my last entry. So, I have a couple of New Year's resolutions for 2021. First, I will include On This Day In History on each Blipfoto entry of 2021. Also, I will include the inspirational quote I wrote in 2017 on each Blipfoto entry of 2021. From March 30th onwards, I will begin hand writing quotations in my notebook and continue including them on my Blipfoto entries. I hope you will enjoy reading them.

Make it so.

Electricity

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.