Looking forwards, looking back

The last day of what can only be called an interesting year. Who would have thought, on 31st December 2019, what 2020 would bring? Every day brings new surprises and opportunities and you have only to browse through a few blip journals to see what we make of them all.

Here are my two diaries for 2021, with lovely blank pages waiting to be filled with who knows what? The small one is just to write what happens, the stuff of everyday. The big one is for me to expand on that. I kept an A4 diary from the age of 14 until about 10 years ago. It will be my 60th birthday this year so  I want to make the effort to do it again. The background is some of D’s latest artwork :-)

It’s been a quiet day after yesterday’s drama. I set out walking this morning to deliver a gift to the people who brought Jess home, but was spooked by the iciness of the roads (no more fractures in 2021 please!) so instead I cut across the snowy fields and visited the house where my great great grandfather was born. I had such a strange feeling, standing outside it. I walked back just as the weather turned from sunny to gloomy, but the promised snow never arrived.

I don’t know if many people will be out celebrating Hogmanay tonight. I hope they all stay at home. Sarah phoned this morning and the situation in London doesn’t sound good. She had been working on the Paeds ICU and they were having to admit adults as all the adult ICU beds are full, and they are so short of staff.

I’m also sad tonight about leaving the EU, but drew some comfort from this Inspirational speech.

Happy New Year, blip friends. Let’s be full of hope, and continue to be excellent to each other :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.