Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A toilet finish to a pants year

Yesterday evening, for the first time ever in my whole life, I managed to drop my mobile-phone into the toilet. I fished it out immediately - there was no wee in the water or anything icky like that. I opened the back and placed the phone face-up on a downy-soft pile of tissue in hope of draining any excess wetness. All seemed well.
You may be aware that I sleep in a “loft bed” designed for pre-adolescents, and that means I have no bedside table. So when I have finished reading at night, my book and my phone are parked in a corner of my mattress until the phone wakes me in the morning, because it is also my alarm.
I don't know why, probably something to do with screen-lights, but when I park my mobile on top of my library book in the corner of my lofty mattress prior to turning out the light and offering myself to sleep, I tend to place the phone screen-downwards.
And so it was that at some point between 2 and 3am today, my phone passed away peacefully in its sleep, having drowned in fluids that were quite definitely not bodily.
By 4am I was wide-awake and booking a click-and-collect 2nd-hand pre-loved Nokia from my local CEX.
They require a WhatsApp number to complete an online order, so I put my sister in the spotlight for that, and then I emailed her to let her know.
I still had plenty of time to update the business-specific Covid war-zone map and upload it to the company intranet, poke half a steroid down the throat of an uppity cat, make a pot of coffee and be ready to face the world at my desk all before 8am.
The phone was bothering me though. What I had loved about the phone was that I had bought it in Greece and it had Greek alfabet on its buttons (did you see what I did there?). It had also had two SIM-card slots and I had had a Greek SIM and a UK SIM with appropriate contacts stored on each. The Greek SIM died last August and all Greek contacts were transferred to the phone memory because the UK SIM was already full.
But also, I have made new friends in Medway this year and their details were also stored in the phone memory and not that of the SIM.
I might be silly, but I'm not stupid, and I know that if ever a text-fest is likely to happen it is most likely to happen on the last night of the year – especially if that year has been totally pants.
I had to have a phone!
So that is now sorted, I have a new handset and my old SIM card can receive calls and messages from everyone who has my number in their contacts list. I might not recognise an incoming number and need to ask them who they are and explain why I am contact-blind, but they are lovely and understanding.
The new Nokia is not a patch on the old Nokia.
Hoping that the new decade is better than the last.
Happy New Year everyone :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.