2020 in a few pictures...

But, knowing me, many words! So only start reading if you have a bit of time on your hands!

I couldn’t summarise everything that has happened this year in pictures. For a start I could only pic those on my iPad, but it is enough. I found pictures of significant events and family members. It is only when you go over the year, you realise what you have achieved, and how many good things too!

I think January 2020 began with my birthday, as does every year, but with me suffering from a horrible virus. It was so bad I was signed off work. Unheard of for me. I was tired, breathless, and weak. Sound like familiar symptoms? But I don’t recall losing my sense of taste, and at that time we are told COVID-19 had not reached these shores.

In March, we had looked forward to a short break away in our caravan to Stratford upon Avon, but the virus hit and the country ground to a very immediate halt. Instead, we had 2 nights at the scout hut in Cromer, listening eagerly to the news on the radio, and feeling quite anxious about the rising virus numbers. Then lockdown and working from home.

Let’s skip the negative stuff. We all know what happened then. In April, we celebrated with mum, virtually, her 80th birthday. She had a beautiful cake, and Manda and family visited, she had messages from everywhere. She may not remember, but she did say it was one of the best birthdays.

In May, Mollie received the amazing news that she had achieved a First in her degree. Well deserved after all her hard work, amid difficult circumstances. We were just glad to have her and Josh home safely from Manchester, and extremely proud of her achievement. Now she has to wait for her graduation ceremony. She has worked when the virus allowed, at Hatters in Cromer, and just before Christmas was successful in her application for a job at a nursery school which she will start next week - again, if the virus allows.

As lockdown progressed, I found more things I could do at home to fill the extra time I had gained from no travelling to work. The allotment was a great escape and I was pleased with results. I also discovered the joy of paper making, plus we did a fair few puzzles, and so many other things. It culminated with the birth of hut STUFF - a work in progress, and hopefully something great for 2021.

In June our ‘baby’ Henry turned 18. Sporting the most amazing curly lockdown hair I found a picture of him to add to my collage. Getting those beautiful curls cut off was the first thing he did when the rules relaxed! Having passed his driving test in February he was excited to get his first car, and be able to get out and drive. He had been furloughed for a short while, but once back in his apprenticeship, he has not stopped.

We were one of the lucky families who were able to enjoy our longed for holiday in July. Originally planned for just Jon and I, we opened the invitation up to the family and were joined by Mollie, Josh and Henry who brought their own tents. We had a lovely 2 weeks in Devon.

In June, Jon started a new job as the Highways Tree Officer for Norfolk County Council. One of the first to be interviewed via ‘Teams’ he has fitted in really well, even though as a team they have never properly met. It wasn’t long before he bought himself a new bike - just after I bought my mini in July. It meant Mollie had my car, and suddenly were were a 5 car family! Daniel, at almost 25, had decided the joy of living in the summerhouse had to come to an end, and has moved out to rent a lovely flat in Cromer with his friend. He is very settled and happy there, and is doing well in his job. That is comforting for me.

As things relaxed, we still were not allowed back to our offices, so Jon built a bench at one end of the summerhouse and we have worked there ever since. It was hot, now it’s cold (& dark) but it means work is separate from home, and seems to be working for us.

Jon and I got our week in Stratford in October, but it was a worrying time, as dad was starting to show more signs of deterioration. When we returned, I arranged a weekend at mum and dad’s so that I could take dad to Harefield to have his pacemaker replaced. He was amazing. At 90, he walked in on his own, was a couple of hours at the hospital for the surgery and recovery and was out by lunchtime. Even braver, he came with me in my mini on my first ever drive on the M25. I was too scared to admit to him that I was petrified. But I’m proud of myself for doing it!

At the end of the month, I returned for a long weekend to help out again, and also to spend some time with dad, as he seemed to be declining. We really were never very sure what was wrong, as the medical people didn’t make it clear, but to me I could see he was not a well man. That continued the following weekend, where I was able to work from mums, which was really handy. Then the announcement of another lockdown and I made the easy decision to stay at mums, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to visit. On Sunday the 1st November, Jon and the kids visited and brought me more clothes and more work stuff. I then stayed.

As we know, dad battled for 2 months, turning 91, the grandchildren all visited him. He was so tired, in pain, but never complained once. I spent 7 weeks at mums. I know I was of some help, but I also renewed friendships from my childhood, and explored all the old haunts. I gained a lot from that time, and although it was quite mentally and physically draining, I enjoyed it and am so glad I was there. I had a few interesting chats with dad during that time - and also did too much talking. Something I’m often told off for!

Now I am home, after spending an enjoyable Christmas with the family I have seen so little of during the past 2 months. I am so grateful for the support of my lovely friends and family. I know Manda is working hard to make sure we give dad a good send off next week, and has given mum company over Christmas.

2021 will begin with a birthday, but that is just a number. We don’t really celebrate it anyway, so COVID has not spoilt that. If the weather is kind, perhaps a walk. My nana was born in 1900, survived 2 world wars, and numerous terrible events of the 20th century. This puts our lives into perspective I think. I am grateful that I have the comfort of my home, food on the table and a loving family . We have all had a horrible year, but with lots of good bits too, but we have been fortunate to avoid the virus. Let’s hope it continues, and we enjoy a happy new year. We never party or drink much, so no change for us tonight. Hope you are all bearing up without the usual celebrations!

Happy New Year to you all.....& well done for making it to the end of my blip!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.