A birthday escape room challenge..

Thanks to all my lovely family, near and far, who have send me cards, posted lovely messages on Facebook or texted and emailed me, I have had a lovely 55th birthday. A bit daunting that it feels like only yesterday I was turning 50...it means 60 might be here before I know it. All the more reason to pack as much as I always have, into every day.

Got up late because I had a late night. Not partying. I went to bed at 11.30 but was reading my book, which really is unputdownable! I could hear my phone downstairs pinging with loads of happy birthday and happy new year messages, as it turned midnight. So nice that people think of me!

So I got up at 9.30 after Jon had made a cup of tea. Then went for my belated week 4 day 1 run! It has been a big gap since the last one. Then I was ready to start the day and what a lovely surprise. I sat down to open my birthday cards, and Mollie appeared with a beautiful plate of cakes, which she made while I was out running, and baked in mums oven nextdoor as ours really can't do cakes. They were a yummy lovely surprise birthday breakfast with coffee.

We had a huge piece of beef for dinner, which needed careful planning. Once that was in the oven, I rang mum and had a chat. Have now decided to go back down to mums on Sunday. We planned timings for the veg and roast potatoes, and left instructions with Mollie and Henry, then Jon and I drove to Cromer for a bit of rejuvenating sea air. We walked along the front and were surprised to see both fish and chip shops were open! Then along and back through the town where most, but not all shops were closed. I reflected on the fact that there were Christmas decs up in the street, and I seemed to have missed it all this year, but as it wasn't a normal year, I really didn't miss anything. I do hope next Christmas can be back to normal and that we can all enjoy double celebrations to make up for it. Last year even though we dont eat out very often, we missed a planned meal to celebrate Mollie's degree, Henry's 18th and just a nice family get together at Christmas. But once all the restaurants are back up and running, we won't be first in line. Happy to wait until after the rush, and then make it special when we do.

Had a lovely roast beef dinner, which Daniel joined us for. We had another box of crackers and now have 4 bottle openers and 2 nail clippers and 2 paper clips. There has to be an opening there for more exciting crackers. Will get my thinking cap on.

This afternoon we played an escape rooms game that we received as a family present. Great fun. We set the time for 60 minutes, but didn't win in the time. It took us 90 minutes but all enjoyed it.

As I already said, thank you to everyone for my birthday cards and presents. I also need to say a very happy birthday to my birthday twins Andy and Laura. I didn't send them cards and should have done. There is no excuse when we share a birthday. I will try harder and make up for it soon.

Finally for today, no promises of shorter blips in the future, but a big thankyou to all my facebook friends who kindly said how much they enjoy reading my blips. I know a lot of what I waffle on about is of no interest to anyone, but I can't seem to stop myself!! Well done to you all for sticking with me:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.