Sorting out...

I have tried so hard today to sort out, tidy up and dare I say - declutter. All things that do not come naturally, although I am quite professional at making a mess and hoarding things!

The Christmas tree was unchecked and put away by Mollie and Henry. I now just have in sympathy and birthday cards up. It already looks tidier.

Jon went shopping but thankfully the list was short. I've only given him a tight budget this month. He is on track so far, so we should eat right up to 19th!

After lunch Mollie and I started on the conservatory and specifically our sewing area. It has meant a lot of juggling things around in my craft drawers, and some decluttering but I think we made good progress. We now have this lovely box as a home for our fat quarters, and other sewing bits that won't fit in my sewing box. This box has a rich history which I am going to tell you about. Many years ago, it began life sold by Mothercare as an old fashioned nappy box, although I don't know if it was used as one. I believe it was bought to be used by my old guide unit (1st Hoddesdon) as a first aid kit for camp. That is when I first remember it. My old leader and friend Lynn used it for many years, and it will have travelled far and wide with the first aide for our camps. When Lynn hung up her scarf and woggle, in about 1990 ( she will correct me) I acquired it. I used it as a box to store my jewellery making bits and fimo, which I then used to sell at craft fairs etc. Then when I had Daniel, I decided to change it to an actual nappy box, hence the childish stickers. Eventually it went back to being a general purpose art box when I did Brownies and Guides in Linton. I had everything from pipe cleaners to hama beads, safety pins and googly eyes to fabric paint. You name it, I had it in that box. Today, we moved all those random bits out and into my other boxes, and now it has a new life full of fabric, cotton, scissors and all things sewing. I think when I have grandchildren I am going to have just as many random stories to tell them about my life, as dad had to tell me - even without living through a world war.

I had to give up when it got too dark, and will carry on in the morning. Might start some knitting in the warm....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.