A day (mostly) by the sea

My day began with a very unexpected facetime call from my cousin Steven in Australia. His 6pm was my 8am. Unfortunately he was awake, bright eyed and bushy tailed. I was asleep, and had to hurriedly make myself decent, before our chat. He kindly wished me a happy birthday. Much of mums family is in Australia and New Zealand, and I can remember back in the 1970s everyone crowding round the phone to receive a phone call from Aunty Eileen on Christmas day, with an extended time delay between speaking. Roll on 50 years and life is like being part of a Star Trek set! Flip up phones, and screens where you can see each other as we speak. I can't quite get my head around d it, but it's pretty amazing.

What is also amazing is how many lovely kind friends I have, who have taken the time to send me birthday cards, and leave me messages wishing me happy birthday. It still feels special to have a birthday on the first day of the year; I feel blessed to have you all in my life, and I promise (yet again) to try to be more positive. I know how easy it is to miss the post between Christmas and new year - I've done just that to two friends this year, and I'm sorry to them. So thankyou to everyone for your kind wishes. 56 today and don't feel too bad for it!

After my chat with Steve and Lyn, I got up, showered, washed my hair and made myself look beautiful. Jon did a coat of paint on the kitchen, while I did some of the ironing that has been looking at me all week. At least Jon will have some t shirts for work now. After a late coffee and biscuits with mum joining us, I opened the very generous gifts I had received, and then we drove in to Cromer for a walk along the beach, to test drive my new coat, meeting up with Daniel in town. We walked down to 'the Cromer Banksy' - bottom picture. Walking on the beach with Jon gave us time to think about and discuss things we want to do this year. Most involved camping of some kind, but I particularly want to spend more time by the sea, and look forward to a night camping out. I have seen other people doing it, and have felt quite envious. Jon is up for it, so watch this space! On the beach today, and in town, there were so many people about! Ending with a coffee/tea from Huckleberrys. Back home for an hour, before collecting mum and heading back to Cromer for the new year fireworks. Last year it was cancelled, so this year we anticipated big crowds, and were not wrong. Jon dropped us off, and went back up to park, then joined us. We found a perfect position in North Lodge Park, and Dan joined us, with a camping chair for mum. Then just a half hour wait as crowds of people descended on the front. The natural light faded and the fireworks began. An amazing display - Cromer did itself proud tonight. I just hope everyone being distanced and by the sea was enough to dispurse any unidentified covid particles.

We walked back with the crowds, to the car and are now enjoying a buffet birthday tea prepared by Mollie.

It has been a nice day. More relaxing than the days off so far, but I've got a bit of a foggy headache. I even did a lateral flow test before we went out, as I feel like I've forgotten what the actual symptoms of covid are. But just the usual brain fog, and headache for me, so no covid thank goodness. Let's hope 2022 continues in such a positive way!

Talking of positives, I have a new book which I think is going to be particularly helpful to me this year. It is from my lovely friend Karen who knows me very well. It is called 'I am here now - The Mindfulness Project' and describes itself as a creative mindfulness guide and journal. She has said there is no pressure to complete anything specific, but I feel quite excited by it - especially the list of exercises - and page 110 jumped out at me. 'The list' - and I know I function better with lists. This book is a guide for my year....if it can get me on track to thinking more positively it will be transformational.

So anyway, thank you everyone for the many happy birthday wishes. They worked. It's been a birthday, and I've been happy.

Happy New year to you all. Let's all wish really hard for good things to happen.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.