Happy New Year

Plus happy birthday to me, and from me to my two new year birthday twins, niece Laura and friend Andy. I'm a bit rubbish at getting cards to them both, which is ridiculous when we share New Years Day as our birthday, but I'm always thinking of them.

Jon brought me a cup of tea in bed, and then we got up quite late and I listened to The Archers. No different to any other Sunday.

Mollie was working today so went out early. We had a coffee joined by mum. Then Henry Jon and I went to Cromer for a long walk with Daniel on the beach.....along with the rest of the population of Cromer and nearby villages, and their dogs. It was so busy, so not as relaxing as I had hoped. We only had 2 hours in the car park so we're back by 2.30.

When Mollie got home I opened all my lovely birthday cards and presents. People are so kind and generous. I made a lemon meringue pie from scratch (you know, lemons, eggs, sugar etc, not a packet mix) it is one of Jon's favourites. Then Jon made chilli for dinner and we played board games. Mum joined us for games, and we opened a bottle of champagne which we all shared.

At this point, I really just want to get back to normal. I'd like to spend some time tomorrow planning a weekend away so that we have something to look forward to. One more day of lazing, overeating and late nights then back to work Tuesday. Must make the most of it....

Happy 2023 everyone x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.