Highlights

I had my hair cut as it was becoming distinctly mop-like. I then did that typical follow-up task of buying a faddy hair product to replicate how the barber left it. In Superdrug the cashier remarked on the weather and said, ‘I’ve got cold hands. Means I’ve got a warm heart, see. Normally I’ve got a swinging brick apparently.’

Plymouth is interesting to explore as there are lots of tranquil views and it’s very dominated by the water.

I had fun video calls in the evening with dear Timothy and then Andy and Heather. Timothy set me some homework to list the good things, big or small, about 2020, which feels like a healthy thing to do so the year isn’t skewed in my mind as more negative than positive.

Things that come to mind are:
- Exploring unknown corners of the UK, when it’s been possible
- Endless walks and cycles around Cambridge, finding green spots, especially ones I didn’t already know
- The continuation of outdoor summer picnics, as in normal years, albeit with more comical logistics around food sharing
- The constant (usually electronic but in person too) presence of friends who have provided distraction, hilarity, creativity, comfort and support
- The kick up the arse we’ve given ourselves as an international organisation to create a more ‘level playing field’, especially around communications, so everyone in all countries of operation has their voice heard
- The greater openness with which many people are now talking about mental health and wellbeing
- The sheer random and entertaining nature of people, e.g. aforementioned woman in Plymouth Superdrug

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.