A New Year, A New Word

Dear Diary,

I always chose a word for the year ahead on January 1st.  Last year it was "Courage"; this year it is "Adapt".  Louisa May is my inspiration for this new word.  She has had to adapt several times in her short life, she'll be 3 in May, first to homelessness, then to life in a shelter and then to coming to a new home with me.  

We've all had to adapt to the new reality this pandemic presented us.  Going forward we still have some scary months ahead, we can't let down our guard, but sometime this year things will change again and we will have to adapt yet again a new reality.  I doubt things will return to the old "normal" completely, maybe that's a good thing. 

I've found that I've also had to adapt as the years go by, moving my bedroom downstairs was a first step as I adapt to my new physical realities.  Someone once said that those who survive most successfully in life are not necessarily the strongest or the smartest but the ones who are willing and able to adapt to their changing realities.  Change what you can but when that isn't possible, adapt.  Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.