New Year, New Word

“For last year's words belong to last year's language
And next year's words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning."
(Little Gidding)”
― T.S. Eliot
Dear Diary,

I thought long and hard before choosing my word for 2020, something I do every New Year's Day.  I finally settled on COURAGE.  I feel like I will need to be reminded of this as we face a turbulent year with a looming election in November.  But on a more personal note, I feel that as one ages one needs to find the courage to keep going, keep growing and keep seeking new adventures in one's life.  It is so easy to give in to cynicism and despair.  I started a new book this week and the dedication read, "To all those who find the courage to keep trying."  That finally decided me on my word. I chose this image because it symbolizes the challenges we all face.  We need to open closed doors, cross new thresholds and climb stairs that may seem daunting, even painful...we have to keep trying.  So, courage it is for 2020.  May we all find it when we need it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.