Desperately seeking

By clickychick

New Year's Eve

After the year we've all had I felt I needed a cheerful blip to end the year, even though followers have seen my rocking robin recently. This was the table decoration for our NYE entertaining. The Bubbled Mate has spent NYE with us for about 25 years and luckily we could continue or tradition today. 

I like to use these artificial candles when he visits as his chest can't easily cope with real ones burning. They give a nice glow in the room as we sit in near darkness watching DVDs projected across the chimney breast.

Today's choices were:
Charlie Wilson's War starring Tom Hanks.
Captain Phillips based on a true story starring Tom Hanks, again.
Independence Day starring Will Smith
Noel a tear-jerker starring Susan Sarandon, who I'm a fan of.
I Could Never Be Your Woman, starring Micelle Pfeiffer

I pushed the boat out in meal making, using raw prawns and Arborio rice for the first time to make a paella. The meal went down very well but was spoilt for me as I'd been using a frying pan in the oven for the first time and after I'd got it out onto the hob I forgot it would be hot and got hold of the handle. Ouch! Silly mistake!
 
I'd like to come back to this page and make some notes about the events based on Covid-19 to look back upon. For now I will just say, I've been lucky. I have had no illness this year, except for a minor cold in February, no major inconveniences due to the lockdowns and have been thankful for technology to keep me in touch with loved ones and financial help with the businesses from the local council.

Happy 2021, Everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.