New Year wandering (Day 2049)

A slow start to the day, and when my beautiful wife announced that she was heading out to the garden to set stuff on fire, I thought it was about time I got another carving project underway. I have a fair old pile of bits of stone, ranging from randomly shaped beach stones through to offcuts of slate in varying thicknesses and finishes, and spent a little while choosing something suitable.
The project is a naming stone for a house, and the stone is a reclaimed piece which may have been a lintel at some time. It has been stored outside, so the first job was to wash it down to get rid of most of the algae and general detritus, before moving it into the boiler room to dry. Drawing up lettering was next on the to do list, and with a few tweaks, the lettering should look really fine. It will be a bit of a departure from my normal carving alphabet, but I am looking forward to a challenge.
After lunch, I managed to tear HV away from her bonfire, and we took the dogs to Lyde for a wander.
Home briefly, then off to Stromness to get out a quick ride before it got too dark. George's fitness is really great at the moment, an 8 minute, mostly uphill trot didn't have him puffing and blowing or lathered up with sweat. Despite carrying me along with him.
The stone was still drying off when we got back home. Tomorrow I will get it drawn up and on the bench.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.