Finding Beauty In Anything

I love the week between Christmas and New Year! I just heard someone refer to it as ‘Twixmas’. It’s a very quiet time in the UK, even without the added aspect of being in a ‘lockdown’ of sorts!

However - just like Covid doesn’t take a holiday, neither do household ‘emergencies’! And just before Christmas I noticed that a tap in my utility room was leaking slightly. A day or two later I discovered it was also leaking underneath the sink. I put a bucket beneath it and it was slowly but steadily filling with water. My normal plumber has moved away and so I really needed to find someone new! Thankfully one of our local Facebook groups is a great place for recommendations and I found someone right away who was happy to come at some point today in between other jobs. All I needed was a new tap! So off I went to Wickes.

I had already ordered one online last night and went to pick it up this morning, using a their super-efficient click and collect service. I chose my time for pickup this morning and when I got there I clicked on the box to say ‘I’m here’, and within 5 minutes someone came out with the box and I was on my way. I’m not sure how normal this is, but it’s the most efficient click and collect service I’ve used so far.

Anyway - it was a cold and frosty but beautiful morning so I couldn’t resist going for a quick walk on the way home. The frost was almost gone by 930, but I still found a few spots. There was some interesting fungi, and I even found beauty in the mud! I love the swirls that form on the small frozen puddles in the mud. It was wonderful to see some sun and blue sky - there have been so many grey days! Most of the path was frozen so much easier to walk on than the deep mud that is everywhere right now.

Once at home it wasn’t long before the handyman came. I’m glad he WAS a handyman and not just a plumber because it seems he can do just about anything - I asked if he would have time to install my new doorbell and he was happy to do so. We discussed some possible future projects. I’m really rubbish at DIY so I’m very glad to find someone that I can call upon to do some much needed work in my home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.