Another Walk in the Arboretum

I just can't get enough of this lovely piece of the world....and traditionally we do a walk in the Arboretum on New Year's Day...and today was no exception. Fortunately there was a few hour window of only clouds...no rain. So another good 2 1/2 mile walk, this time ascending through the Winter Garden - usually we walk the other direction. Fun to see things in a new direction, don't you think?

I spotted this lovely, wet patch of cyclamen growing amongst our native Sword Fern (Polystichum minimum) and it is such a lovely combination of textures and patterns. The extra is of the Winter Garden this morning. I forgot to look for the plant tag for the yellow yews in the foreground, but I believe they're Golden Japanese Yews. Stunning aren't they?  If you peer into the left side, you'll see some white camellias blooming, along with some form of Oregon Grape Holly (Mahonia) blooming rather magnificently as well. I love this garden!

Happy New Year my dear friends...I am overjoyed that we are starting a new year and so look forward to spending another year with you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.