Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Accentuate the positive

For goodness knows what reason I have had the old Bing Crosby hit song Accentuate the Positive running around in my head today. It was recorded in December 1944  and first reached the Billboard Magazine charts on January 25, 1945. I hasten to add that this was four years before I was born.

The song lasted nine weeks on the chart, peaking at number 2. The song was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Original Song at the 18th Academy Awards  in 1945 after being used in the film Here Come the Waves.

The words of the first verse are:

"You've got to accentuate the positive
Eliminate the negative
Latch on to the affirmative
Don't mess with Mister In-Between."

I imagine it was written to help boost the morale of the American people during WWII. Its sentiments are not out of place today.

It's a dull, damp and dreary day here today. When I spotted this lone rose bud in our garden this morning I thought how cheerful it looked. In my photo I decided the accentuate the positive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.