Vasilopita

This cake is served at midnight to celebrate the life of St Basil. A coin is hidden inside. On New Year’s Eve when the clock strikes 12, after everyone wishes each other a new year it is time for cutting the vasilopita. Traditionally there is a religious aspect, so the host of the house is the one who cuts the cake. The first piece is for Christ, the second for the virgin Mary, the third for the house and then follows a piece for the hosts, following by the oldest relatives and moving to the youngest. If a family member is away on a trip they are also included. Vasilopita is a moist cake made with ingredients everyone has at home: sugar, flour, eggs, milk and orange.  (Taken from olive tomato.com)

I bought my cake and we had a laugh about the coin. Did I want it? Maybe, just maybe I might find it (I’m on my own here). I then went for my usual walk and bought ham and cheese for New Years Eve, after queuing for a bit. My sister messaged Happy New Year at 3.30pm. Weird knowing they’re ahead of me now - usually I’m there with them..

Wise ones/educators - do a MSc in Tesol in my 50's? Trying to future-proof myself. Thoughts welcome. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.