Family Ghost

By PhilDockerill

New Gauge

The New River isn't very new, and it isn't really a river. It was built in the early 1600's to bring water from Hertfordshire to London.

I remember fondly being taken to feed the ducks on the New River as a small boy in East London. I walked there with my Nan, one hand holding hers and the other clutching a paper bag with crusts of bread. I was desolate one day when we got there and found the bread had escaped through a hole in the bottom of the bag.

The New Gauge is where, since about 1850, water has been drawn from the River Lea to top up the springs. I've never seen it before so today was a bit of a pilgrimage and time to remember.

I watched the water flowing backwards towards a time when family pictures were in black and white and I had to reach up to hold my Nan's hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.