Firefighting

Today we went to the supermarket to get a few things, and 30 kg of wood pellets. It was a bit gray on our way there, but it poured with rain on the way home. Unlike yesterday which was bright but cold today was miserably dark and cold.... We did have galette for lunch which always cheers you up.

Today's blip is a 2009 Royal Mail 1st class stamp part of the Fire and Rescue series. My father was a fireman after he left the RAF. He gradually rose through the ranks. It's a young person's game so he retired before he was 65 and did courier work for a while. I remember his retirement party, and as a small child I remember the Fire Brigade Christmas parties...!

I'm not sure what I was up to in 2009, my oldest blip is a back blip from 2010. However a look through my photo archive shows we went donkey trekking that summer in the Auvergne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.