Snow / sleet / rain day

I had to pop to town today to collect some things for work. I thought I'd walk in so that I could do my daily quota of outside time and also try and get some nice pics in the snow that was gently falling. Alas, the snow turned to sleet and then rain and it wasn't the most pleasant of walks. I was hoping for some good Quarry pics but everything was just really grey and muddy and uninspiring. I had a chat with a lady about swans and whether they can really break a human's leg or if it's just an urban myth. I didn't hang around to find out. Ellie was working in the bookshop which gave us a good chance to chat about work and some ideas for the next few weeks. Whatever does / doesn't happen with school closures (don't even get me started on this), we've got enough to be getting on with for a few weeks at least. 

I said that I'd talk about books today, mostly for my own records.
I managed 54 books in 2020, which I'm happy with but could have been more based on my month or two of furlough.

Hands down the best book I read this year was A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, which robharris35 and I are still talking about as it had us both in tears, more than once. It's a long book but the length allows the characters to develop and you, as a reader, feeling that you know each one. I can't remember much about a lot of the books I've read this year, but this one definitely stands out as being miles above the rest. 

Other enjoyable and notable reads:
The Ruthless Elimination of Hurry by John Mark Comer.
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (thanks, chickensparrow).
The Heart's Invisible Furies by John Boyne
Journey Through Britain by John Hillaby
An Orchestra of Minorities by Chigozie Obioma
Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter
Just Another Mountain: A Memoir of Hope by Sarah Jane Douglas

Looking forward to another year of reading. Recommendations welcome, dear blippers! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.