Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another dull day

I was delighted to see my anniversary blip on number one spot of the popular page, thank you so much - that is a rare occurrence for me.

When out walking this morning with Xena in the woods we bumped into a friend who got her first dog during lockdown. She said she is loving being a dog owner and enjoying her daily walks, but she was complaining about the fireworks this year and she is so right as we seem to have fireworks going off for every occasion since Halloween. I guess people are bored and fireworks is one way to bring some excitement into their lockdown lives but it is not much fun for the animals.

The woods were muddy as usual - we have grey weather and cold, no snow or frost which is very disappointing. Despite the grey skies and poor light the reflections looked good today. See extras for the awful muddy conditions.

Our local cafe is doing a new hot chocolate menu and so on the way home we stopped to get some coffees and hot chocolates - they are even doing one which includes avocado in it which apparently was delicious. I had a cappuccino as I need to eat healthily again after the big Christmas meals, and hot chocolates are very calorific!

Next week it is back to photography stuff again, I have a camera club zoom on Monday night (thankfully I remembered to upload my competition images just before New Years Eve), and then on Tuesday we have our camera group zoom so I spent some time getting some images sorted for my homework that is due for that. 

I also sorted my books read list on Good Reads - I  read 46 books during 2020, my goal for this year is 50 books. I am currently reading Homeland Elegies which is beautifully written if a little wordy at times, but I enjoy reading good prose.

Tonight is the last night with all the boys home, Adam goes back to Cambridge tomorrow as he is due in the lab on Monday, and Luke will be moving back to London again after being home for about two months. I will be very sad to see them go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.