Snowy Fields

One thing about living in a white world of snow and Ice where at any minute there is a distinct possibility of a slither resulting in a broken hip, is that there are many possibilities for finding blip.
I was the first person to trample the virgin snow when I went out to get a paper this morning. Apparently it had just come after the shop lady arrived to open up Sainsbury’s , so it must have been a recent down fall.

Anxious to get out and explore this white virgin territory I took my trusty walking pole and keeping to the more trafficked highways made a circuitous shopping walk. Once home and suitably warmed up with a cup of coffee I watched the local families sledging down the incline outside my dining room window. It looked fun but I was happier watching than taking part.

I was enticed out again just after lunch by a friend for a walk round the marches with our walking poles. It was perhaps taking caution to extremes but she had walked from further afield where the roads and pavements had become ice rinks overnight. The poles were quite handy in the middle of the Meadows where the snow had iced over and was quite slithery in places

It must have been really cold today as the snow was determined to linger and with the pavements clear but wet, a below zero temperature tonight will leave them dangerously slippery tomorrow if there is no gritting done.

I had a late message from Raheny Eye inviting me for a Zoom call, and it was lovely to see him virtually and have a catch up. I am in awe of his daily dive into the chilly Irish Sea. I believe that a daily immersion into freezing water is good for your health and possibly your soul, but like sledging, I will watch and admire and leave it there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.