Self-chiropractic

I wasn't intending to record here my latest fitness hiccup. It must be as tedious to read about as it is for me to experience. But this one I now have to add to the journal. I had no niggles or aches or pains following my long run with Forrest on Christmas Eve. I didn't get ahead of myself and took no more than a gentle walk on the moor to get some air on Boxing Day. Unfortunately, on a steep, slippery bit of path, my feet went up in the air and I came down very hard on my back. I should call it a Covid injury because I'd have been fine if it wasn't for choosing to go down a different route to usual in order to avoid all the people that were about. Since then I've been in a lot of pain.

Yesterday, laid up in bed until well after lunch, I eventually managed to stretch out enough to go for what was meant to be a short walk. On the way back from the tarn I began to realise that what I thought was just low cloud was actually an inversion. I started climbing and soon found myself in the sunshine, above the cloud that was filling the valley. The fog rolled in again and I climbed up to the Twelve Apostles to stay above it, pursuing the bleak sunset that I eventually blipped. On the way back, following the flagstones, I relaxed my concentration and found some ice. Once again, feet up in the air and straight back down on my back. I feared the worst but when I got up and continued, there didn't seem to be any damage. If anything, the back felt better. 

On waking up this morning, I half expected to be seized up again. Instead, it was definitely a lot less painful. It looks like I succeeded in shocking things back into alignment! It meant I felt confident to do a bit more photography today, although the paths have become totally treacherous in places. I decided not to indulge in any further treatement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.