The battle for Holmehill

I have known about the Holmehill Community Buyout campaign since its inception in 2005 but not until this afternoon had I walked this historic landscape in the centre of Dunblane.

Now I see why local residents have campaigned so vociferously over the years to preserve these 13 acres of green space as a public area.

Even though attempts at a community buyout failed and the land was sold to a local developer the campaign group remained vigilant.

So far they have succeeded in getting planning applications to build there rejected. The latest was for an office block in the centre, on the site of the original mansion house.

The area is especially popular with dog walkers - and that's where I met I met Lola and Crazy Maisie, two golden retrievers, this afternoon with their owner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.