Snowy!

Had seen a forecast for snow today, but the sky didn’t look threatening.  Set off for a walk at lunchtime and as I neared the village snowflakes started to fall.  St Ives was busy as it always is at weekends. I went to get a coffee to drink as I went round the pond, but there was a very long queue at the cafe so decided to forego that.  I reached the pond which was also quite crowded, but after feeding the ducks and swans I realised that everyone had disappeared, probably because the road was getting quite a thick covering of snow and many had come by car.  The route round the pond looked magical with the snow covered trees - the snow was coming down heavily now.  Large areas of the pond were frozen.  I only saw one other lady as I walked round.  She stopped for a chat, and said she was just back to walking after breaking her Tib &Fib at the end of last year - not really the sort of weather to be out in after doing that!.  Went into the bird hide and found 3 squirrels sheltering  inside - they stayed whilst I watched the few birds which were around.  Walked back home via Cuckoo’s Nest, stopping to look at Baxter’s Pond (dedicated to my brother-in-law) to see if that too  was frozen.  It wasn’t, but it is much more sheltered there. Lovely walk and not too cold despite the snow.  Good to be out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.