The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Bus to Somewhere Else

Patchwork Quilt : #5 in my attempt to bridge the gap between the picture and a thousand words

(Riding down one of the back alleys I use to get back and forth to the library, I took this picture for Derelict Sunday but knew, as I took it, I'd want to pair it with the first 'small story' that got scribbled in one of my notebooks and the first Saying Goodby in America. Thanks to Marlieske for hosting the DS challenge and for sharing it, this time around, with a Patchwork Quilt.)

Saying Goodby in America in 1962
"It's not that I don't love you anymore. I do I suppose, it's just that ... that ..."
Then, with more courage than she knew she possessed, Helen hung up the phone, stepped out of the phone booth, and got back on the bus to Somewhere Else."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.