Victualling

Signs of Britain’s maritime history are all around in Plymouth. Today I strolled around Devonport, East Stonehouse and the Royal William Victualling Yard, where the photo is taken. Nowadays the Yard is visited more by people going to Prezzo or their converted warehouse penthouse flat than by ships loading up on provisions before a voyage to the New World. It was really interesting to stroll around the fairly deserted complex and to visit Devil’s Point on the other side of the peninsula, known historically as the place where families would wave to welcome home the crews of Royal Navy warships. Today some brave souls were partaking in water sports despite the strong chill in the air.

Rain eventually forced me to retreat to snuggle under the duvet, where I lodged myself gleefully for several hours, with my own stash of victuals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.