SilverImages

By SilverImages

Fairy Tale cottage

"Losing your way on a journey is unfortunate. But, losing your reason for the journey is a fate more cruel."
H. G. Wells 

True to form I found myself hacking through brambles and bracken, up a steep hill of course, in search of the gardens the dog-walker told me about yesterday. I could have taken the easy way and driven straight to the entrance, but I was more interested in finding a route on foot from the park, my version of the north west passage; giving me a walk as well as a photo at the end of it. I began by following a well trodden path through the park, which seemed to serve several destinations because it got progressively less well trodden, until I was following an uphill track through brambles and woodland to the back of the housing estate. I'd studied the map of the area so I knew approximately which direction to take, but it's surprisingly easy to lose bearings in rough scrubby woodland. I was probably following sheep tracks, well maybe they knew the route? I sensed I was on the right track as the landscape changed; I saw several huge redwoods - including a fallen one - which were definitely not native to this area. Through a clearing ahead I saw a high stone wall, looking very much like Victorian engineering, and then as if by magic the house appeared above it, looking every inch the gingerbread house I'd been told about. Well done Hansel, photo in the bag. Fortunately getting back was easier, I just followed the road to the park entrance

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.