10th Day of Christmas

On the 10th day of Christmas we had a piece of Christmas cake. We always enjoy some after our Sunday lunch. Or should I leave it at - we always enjoy some.

I have never made a Christmas cake! My gran made them and when I left home I bought them. When my sister-in-law moved nearer she used to make us one as our Christmas present and before she died #2 Daughter continued the job using her recipe.

We didn't expect to get a cake this Christmas but Kat insisted on putting it in the post to us. The reason it's rectangular is because I cut a third of it off and decorated that separately for The Bro in Law, who was overwhelmed that Kat had bothered to put it in the post for us. He confined in me that it was something he would really miss this year, not knowing I already had it awaiting decoration.

I got it quite late so decoration was hurriedly and simply done on Christmas Eve. Holly, glace cherries and gold food spray paint.

BTW the sherry was chosen for soaking my pudding dried fruit in. Far too sweet for me to drink! A last Christmas blip before the decorations come down on Tuesday, 12th Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.