Enter Art Nouveau

I took a frigid architecture outing with my friend Gregory, to the 16th arrondissement in Paris. This was our destination: the Castel Beranger, designed by Hector Guimard (1867-1962), a crucially important Art Nouveau innovator in Paris, known above all for his Metro entrances--here's my favorite image of one, from 2004.

This image is probably best in large. Here's a third-party shot behind the door. Frustratingly, here's the only English web page I've found for the Castel Beranger--there are many in French.

On the long walk from Metro Passy to the Beranger (14 Rue La Fontaine) we took the Rue Raynouard, passing one wonderful art nouveau/art deco building after another.

Just noticed this is my 1111th blip--not a formal blipversary, but fun any way :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.