Refuge

The news was certainly not unexpected, but when this newest stiffer lockdown in Scotland was actually implemented at midnight with 8 hours notice, my heart sank. To say I’m scunnered at the whole state of affairs is an understatement.

My heart bleeds for parents trying to home school, for senior pupils missing out on their last two years of school life, for teachers having to spend time preparing virtual lessons, for students missing out on University life, for old lonely people living in inner city flats, but most of all for NHS staff exhausted trying to keep the show on the road and for non Covid patients missing out on life giving cancer operations.

I know there is a light at the end of the tunnel in the shape of a vaccine, but no one seems able to predict accurately how long the tunnel is . The logistics of general vaccination seem to becoming more difficult as the days pass. I daren’t even contemplate the thought that the new South African variant could be resistant to the present vaccines and they might have to be tweaked.

In the absence of any blip inspiration on my walk in the rain round the Meadows (and the rain is preferable to skiting on slippery pavements), my blip is of my lockdown refuge; I am one of the lucky ones .......so far.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.