Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

In the pink

As expected England (and Scotland) have gone into a national lockdown once again. Although the government is saying it is a full lockdown as we had in March, it is hardly different from the Tier 4 rules which we have had in place for a few weeks already. The major difference is that schools are closed until mid February (except for children of vulnerable people and keyworkers). It is such a difficult decision, as children are now known to be transmitting the virus to family members and teachers, and yet their education is vital. Socially it also has a major negative impact on children. 

University students are also not returning unless they are students of medicine, dentistry or veterinary science, so Tommy will be home for a few weeks longer than expected. His girlfriend who is doing Vet Science has to return to university and that is not fun for her, without most of her friends. I feel very sorry for university students who are not getting the experience they should be having, and for those in the significant exam years at school. 

I also think that teachers should get vaccinated as soon as possible as it is essential for education to continue. I know the other issue is the spread of the virus from the children to their families at home, but teachers deserve protection.

I found out last night that because I am allergic to penicillin I won't be able to get the Pfizer vaccine but the Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine should be okay, so that is good news.

Today was another horrible wet and cold day - Xena and I had a late morning walk in the woods as I had to wait for the computer man to finish setting up my computer. I am now using it and it is a delight to have a fast computer again, and my monitor is huge so I can see every little detail! 

I luckily have some pretty pink roses in the house so this is my indoor blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.